Oregon Musings

  • Portland was just a 5 hr flight away, but it seemed that it was a different me that went to Portland. As though there was a Portland-Kaushik and a Madison-Kaushik. I would like to call it the Malleable personality disorder. In fact, I feel that I have lived non-overlapping lives. My conversations with long time friends from school, Sashi and Shriram, are vastly different from the Portland friends, Suku, Bhavani and Anshu. With another set of friends from RVCE, I had totally different experiences while with the Madison geeks, my idea of fun is totally different. And, none of these sets of friends of mine, know (or probably even appreciate) the kind of activities that I tend to enjoy with others. The few times that I have shared some of the insane RVCE final semester stories with friends here in Madison have been met with disbelief. One evening, my conversations alone with Suku were so different from those when Anshu and Bhavani also tagged along a few minutes later, that I couldΒ  hardly believe that it is me that took part in two conversations poles apart from each other within the span of few minute. On my way back to Madison, I was wondering about this MPD, what is my idea of fun? But I let it stay, because I am having fun (although in most cases, probably because I allow the space for others to enforce their plans on me, my plans get rejected. I dont mind it…)
  • When I decided to get my hands dirty with this PhD thing, I had mentally prepared myself for lagging way behind close friends in the savings-account figure in our banks. I had prepared myself to see friends getting cars, furniture and houses, while I still lived on a miserly graduate stipend. What I had not prepared for (and here it comes again, my rant about married friends), is for the \”figure\” that gets appended to them (aka, the wife). Talking to Suku and Bhavani about their life together, or listening to Anshu anticipate his life with Priyanka that is about to begin in a few months, my mind drifted to what-if\’s again. Anyway, here is hoping that we have yet another reunion the next year and Priyanka gells into our group easily, and then an optimistic hope that the $i^{th}$reunion after that, $ i = 1,2,3,…$ also sees a certain Miss Unkonwn join the group πŸ™‚
  • Suku and Bhavani are perfect for eachother. Sometimes, very briefly, you get the premonition of the future. I remember, a second year afternoon in DJ, I had bunked a class, Suku, was walking back to his room, with his charachteristic gait, that he got really popular for. I was walking around in the common area, and asked Suku about the class. He said, he missed it and had gone to the canteen with Bhavani. All of a sudden, just at that moment, it stuck me that they will end up together, a fleeting vision, when at that time, they hardly spoke to eachother. Much later, they got to-gether, and as much as I wanted to believe that it was not the real thing, I knew that it was. They compliment eachother like yin and yang, Suku is the typicalΒ  practical, no-nonsense guy and she brings a whiff of adventure to him a-la Kareena in Jab We Met, while Bhavani is the dreamer, forever trying to lose herself in a neverland, and Suku brings in the perspective to her life. Here is wishing All the best to them, and (as Bob Dylan would say it), May they stay forever young πŸ™‚
  • Why is it that people cannot believe I can drive. Swami, is always scared when I am at the wheel, although, I am pretty good. The fact that he is always scared scares me. And this time in Portland, I was treated like Calvin asking his mom for the wheel in this comic strip…
  • There is a maami inside us after-all. Within 5 minutes of meeting up, we started bitching about anyone and everyone like the old ladies during hot afternoons in agraharams! And that went on for 3 nights and on the long drives…Absolute pleasure πŸ™‚
  • Portland is really really beautiful. It reminded me (and Vidya, on seeing the pictures) of monsoon afternoons in Kolkata. It felt like heaven to wake up to grey skies, the whiff of rain, the fresh moist air blowing, the birds chirping and the brillaint shades of green that nature serves up when it rains! I am jealous of Anshu now πŸ™‚
  1. #1 by Anjana on April 22, 2009 - 2:52 pm

    came here while blog-hopping to get away from nauseating spring love 😦

    • #2 by Kaushik on April 22, 2009 - 2:59 pm

      hey!
      Welcome…although some help in deciphering the comment for this “ashadu” brain will be accepted…I did not understand your comment πŸ™‚
      Although, I hope that you come often :p

  2. #3 by Anjana on April 22, 2009 - 3:19 pm

    i was just looking for at least one blog with a little angst, and this one too is all about love and coupling which is something i find irritatingly ubiquitous each spring. i hope my chamuthu brain got through to your ashadu one! πŸ˜›

    • #4 by Kaushik on April 22, 2009 - 3:30 pm

      Now I get it! So did you find an angry blog??? or still searching?

  3. #5 by Anjana on April 22, 2009 - 3:38 pm

    if i had i wouldnt have landed up here πŸ˜›

  4. #6 by Anjana on April 22, 2009 - 3:43 pm

    but youve got a nice blog. will def visit again. πŸ™‚

    • #7 by Kaushik on April 22, 2009 - 3:45 pm

      ah! I feel better now… thanks πŸ™‚ see you around

  5. #8 by ammalu on April 23, 2009 - 2:35 pm

    aint we all suffer from MPD ?? I am a different person at home, a different person at work and a very very different person with friends and i donot know who the real me is ! anyhow a different post considering you wrote about a trip , its all about the people you made the trip with and not about the stuff you did , places you visited and blah blah!! BTW, calv is adorable πŸ˜› Can I work on the gas and the breaks…hehehe πŸ™‚

    • #9 by Kaushik on April 23, 2009 - 2:45 pm

      I dont think everyone suffers from MPD….I know that for sure….some people enforce their personality in a group….Suku is like that…

      I wrote about what I am going to remember the trip for….for what we did…theree are always snaps :p

  6. #10 by ammalu on April 23, 2009 - 2:56 pm

    Exactly, Its the people we made the trip with who makes all the difference and i never looked at it that way whenever i write about my trips . Thats what struck me about the post..

  7. #11 by Bhavani on May 30, 2009 - 7:47 pm

    He he he… really liked the way u described me! πŸ˜‰ I can definitely say that it is all true.
    Stopped by your blog after ages and it was so refreshing! πŸ™‚

    Totally understand how you must have felt on not being allowed to drive… I saw it first hand πŸ˜€ Lets form a club called “What’s wrong with our driving?” . I still haven’t been allowed to drive around here 😦 You found the perfect Calvin strip!

Leave a Reply

