The holiday

Janani has started a new feature on her blog for really short stories (aptly called Tiny stories). Also, I am inspired by Arjun Basu’s  Twisters, 140 word stories on Twitter. Here is my (lame?) first attempt (not 140 words, but pretty short story)…

Amma woke him up. From within his quilt, with half open eyes, he coughs and holds his stomach, and pleads to his mother that he wants to skip school because he is not feeling well. He adds a couple of coughs to his act. Amma said, OK, no school for you. His eyes suddenly lights up at the unexpected answer. Amma asks him to sleep off the illness, but he wakes up within 5 minutes with the excitement of an unexpected holiday. He curls into his dads lap, coughs a little (in an attempt to maintain the charade), blocks his dads view of the sports page, and quips, Utsav would be in his uniform eating breakfast now, and I am here. His dad ahems. His joy does not know any bounds.

But, he did not realize that it was 10 AM, well past his school time, and he does not remember the previous night. He had become unconscious suddenly, and had his family tensed and anxious for most of the night in the hospital. His parents, were now waiting for the MRI results.



  1. #1 by Anjana on June 30, 2009 - 12:58 pm

    good stuff yaar.
    and i recently got a scan done as well. 😛

  2. #3 by sachita on June 30, 2009 - 5:06 pm

    Neat the twist at the end.(amma and dad is nice, that is the way it is in my life:))

    • #4 by Kaushik on June 30, 2009 - 11:32 pm

      Oh! did not notice amma and dad…
      For me its Amma and Appa when speaking in Tamil, Mummy and Papa when speaking in Hindi, and of-late, Appa is being replaced by a nick-name that me and my sis came up for him 🙂

      (I see you have taken care to close the brackets…I always forget that when stuff I want to say in parenthesis ends with a smiley. I leave behind an unloved open parenthesis :p)

  3. #5 by Karthik on July 1, 2009 - 8:59 am

    I liked it. Let us have some more 🙂

  4. #7 by Janani on July 6, 2009 - 4:33 pm

    Oh, I didn’t notice this! Nice nice, let the stories begin 🙂

    But seriously, I liked this one a lot. Reminds me of how I was as a kid, ready to do anything to get a day off from school 🙂

  5. #8 by Sriram on July 6, 2009 - 11:29 pm

    the ending is good. u should write more!

Leave a Reply

