Dissapointed

I had tickets to the Bob Dylan concert in the Milwaukee Summer fest today, and for the past two days, I was hyper excited to be able to listen to Bob Dylan live!

But, today I realized that Bob Dylan and band (which was what the concert was) is not the Bob Dylan, I have listend to and loved…

The guitars, the drums, the violin, the cello, all the accompaniments meant that I could hardly recognize the songs that I love so much.

The magic of Bob Dylan is simply the acoustic guitar, his voice and the mouth-organ…I will be on the look-out for a just Bob Dylan concert..

Also, the man’s voice has aged, but I ain’t complainig about that…It is still magical!

  1. #1 by Vinay on July 2, 2009 - 5:41 am

    You are used to listening Dylan’s old songs, performed and recorded with the 70s-80s era of instruments. So, these new age instruments seem a bit out of order with Bob Dylan.

    I had a cassette in which Lata Mangeshkar paid tribute to various singing legends, by singing their songs. Leave apart Lata’s voice, but the music seemed too unreal because we were all trained to hearing the old music (piano, mouth organ, etc.). So much so, that the new synthesisers used seem to be artificial.

    • #2 by Kaushik on July 2, 2009 - 7:32 pm

      I agree with you on we tend to like the things that we are used to listening!

Leave a Reply

