Four years and sixteen days…

…since I started blogging.

And in these four years, my blog and me have come a long way.

2005-06 were confusing years for me. My fantasy of the future was not standing up to the reality of the present. I was lonely, and during lonesome nights, I found this brand new world of blogs, a world in which I was instantly drawn too, and with which I instantly fell in love.

Over the four years, the blog has been that silent friend, which just listens to me, does not advise and come what may, always takes my side. Across the posts that I have posted and the ones that are lying in the drafts, I have let out a million different things, and got the result that I wanted: The things are just there, not being compared, not being dissected, not being ridiculed. Just feelings which have a new home.

Of course, I have also wished for a dedicated fan-following and a host of blog-friends. I have got them to some measure, and I treasure the read and comment relationships. Sometimes, those comments are just what the doctor ordered.

My blog has been a small foothold in the blog-universe, because on the days that I feel real bad, it is not the sitcoms nor the movies nor the books lying on my bookshelf that help me cheer up, but its the blogs of the people I follow, and the links in theirs and the links in the links. And, sometimes, when I land into a blog that feels ย the same as my blog, I silently creep up and read all its posts, and feel rejuvenated. It is weird feeling: Much like time-travelling along with instant teleportation with out-of-body experience. The thoughts, travails, joys, sorrow of just another person is such a relief than to look for special stories, inspirational anecdotes or simulated comedies.

Its said that when in doubt, Think out loud. Well, I think out loud using my blog. It has been an important friend in what and who I am now. Hope that the friendship continues.

Edit 12/19/2009: Something that I felt that I just have to write: This blog in many ways has become a part of me, and it is something that I cherish and am mighty proud of.

  1. #1 by Janani on December 14, 2009 - 10:30 am

    Blogging has been pretty cathartic for me too! And I hear you about the comments – sometimes all you need is a “Me too” comment to make you feel better.

    Here’s to many more years of blogging! ๐Ÿ™‚

    PS. Why did you take down the other post?

  2. #2 by Kaushik on December 14, 2009 - 6:04 pm

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    The other post was meant to be a draft. Somehow pressed the wrong button and did not realize it.

  3. #3 by andyuncut on December 15, 2009 - 9:34 pm

    Let me just say this once more. I like your blog almost as much as i do anything else in the net. I first reached here in 2006 .. and have seen it changing it’s nature as time went by. But I have always loved it and to be honest, found a lot of similarity in the way you write to the way I wish I wrote.
    Let me just tell, I have known you a lot better from your blog than in any other way.

    • #4 by Kaushik on December 15, 2009 - 9:46 pm

      Those are very kind words you say, Anand…Flatters me a lot ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks.

      BTW, give me a call soon. Me leaving next week….

Leave a Reply

