Happy 28!

As a 1st year engineering  student, and a freshly minted (legal) adult, I have always considered 28 to be a really monumental birthday. And 3 hours away from the 28th birthday, I am still a student, still confused about what I want from life; still single and still searching for excuses.

Just today, I was playing Tennis with a friend, who is much better than me, and to justify losing, and to make him feel guilty, I complained about his “over competitiveness”, about bad bounce, about back pain and everything. It  an epiphanous  moment, as I went into the agressive in complaining so that I could make him feel guilty; I realized that over the past couple of years, I have been indulging in a lot of complaining. I have been doing a lot of giving-up and I have been letting things drift.

So, here is the big resolution for this 28th year: To be more proactive in everything.

  1. #1 by विनय बावडेकर on August 18, 2011 - 10:17 pm

    Happy birthday to you mate!! So, you are just 3 years younger than me. And that’s a good resolution. Best wishes to you with that.

  2. #2 by Pavi Prabakaran on January 2, 2012 - 1:07 pm

    Hello Kaushik,

    Sorry haven’t kept up with your posts thanks to my own laziness. Very belated happy birthday.

    I can totally relate to you. Being 27 and being a student and still not knowing what I want from life is no fun whatsoever. Ever since I was 13, I considered each birthday to be monumental only to realize that I have a difficulty in mentally accepting that I am actually growing up but each day waking up to a harsh and ruthless reality that unfortunately I really am getting older and still don’t know where I belong.

    As much as it sucks, whining of the smallest measure easily leads to cynicism. I like your resolution and I hope you have been able to stick to it.

Leave a comment